National Parks Employees–Advice Please?

DeathByPetticoatfinalCover

I know many of the readers of this blog work for the National Parks as park rangers or in other capacities because I hear from many of you. Some of you have proposed myths for debunking, myths that you come across in your daily interaction with visitors. And others have provided information to assist with debunking certain myths. I appreciate the help very much, and wonder if you can help on something else: making DEATH BY PETTICOAT available to visitors/customers in your bookstores. 

Last year, when the book first came out, I sent a letter and sample to Eastern National in Philadelphia but had no response. I don’t know if it even arrived on the right desk. I honestly can’t imagine why this book would be unsuitable for National Parks bookstores, since it is related to the mission of the park service and deals with many myths heard or repeated at our national parks. It would seem a perfect fit.  I’m very proud of the book and it is selling well nationally: about 8,000 copies last year and it was only available for a few months. I think the retail of $12.95 makes it an easy item to pick up. It has been a good moneymaker for Mount Vernon, Colonial Williamsburg, and other nonprofit shops and would surely be a good moneymaker for the National Parks bookstores. 

Am I correct in thinking that all publications must be purchased through Eastern National, or can bookstore managers make their own decisions? Does anyone have any suggestions as to how I might proceed? If you want to e-mail me directly, I’m at mmtheobald@comcast.net. 

Excuse the commercial, but I’m really clueless as to what to do here. Stay tuned for Myth #110 in a few days. 

13 Responses to National Parks Employees–Advice Please?

  1. While this isn’t exactly what you asked, I did wonder if you knew about the http://www.museumstoreassociation.org, which might have resources available to help get your book into more museum stores?

    • Mary Miley says:

      Thanks, Lauren, good suggestion. I am aware of that group. I was once a member, many moons ago, and have written for their magazine. But my publisher is not going to buy an ad in their magazine and I can’t afford to. I did send the magazine’s editor a note asking if she would consider publishing a review of the book, so we’ll see what she says.

  2. nstewart130@aol.com says:

    Hi,

    Would you send a review copy to me, please? I’m the Eastern National store manager at Guilford Courthouse NMP.

    address: Guilford Courthouse NMP 2332 New Garden Road Greensboro, NC 27410 (phone @ park is 336-288-1776)

    Nancy Stewart

  3. Anne Foster says:

    Eastern National is the cooperating association for a lot of parks, but not all of them and not many of the larger parks. Larger parks have their own educational partners. In addition, the concessions operators may also sell books in their gift shops and may have a bit more flexibility in selection. Xanterra and Delaware North are two of the larger concessioners; I’m sure there are others.

  4. Congrats! I have been enjoying your blog for several years now!
    http://maggiemayfashions.com/sewingblog/history-myths-debunked-new-book-on-the-market/
    -susan jarrett. maggie may clothing

  5. janice says:

    i don’t remember any fiction books at the national parks i attended. just ones about the park, animals plants. hmmmm….makes you think

    • Mary Miley says:

      My book, DEATH BY PETTICOAT, is not fiction, of course, but I would think that a good historical novel, related to the specific park would be a great educational addition to any park bookstore.

  6. Sanford says:

    I wanted to thank you for this excellnt read!! I absolutely enjoyed every bit
    of it. I’ve got you bookmarked to look at new stuff you post…

  7. Melissa Tynes says:

    Mary,

    i would love to try an get it in our bookstore here at Natchez National Historical Park. Eastern National does run our bookstore and I would gladly hand deliver it if I could get a copy! We are currently working on an exhibit as well!

    Melissa Tynes
    Park Ranger

    • Mary Miley says:

      What fun! Do let me know the particulars of your exhibit when it occurs. As for getting the book in your museum shop, it should be easy. The book is available through the usual book wholesalers like Ingram or Baker & Taylor, or from your Simon & Schuster rep, if you have one. If you have a problem, let me know . . . I have a few back channel ways . . .

What do you think?

