Myth # 142: During the Civil War, soldiers bit on bullets to combat pain.

Unknown-1

Rhonda Florian wrote: “I’m hoping you can help me with some information. I am a living historian. I keep running into what I believe is a history myth—that soldiers used to bite on a bullet during surgery. I always scoff at the idea. I ask the person, “What’s going to happen the first time you scream?” Besides, I ask, what would be the purpose of biting a bullet even if it were humanly possible? But then there’s always that person who says they’ve seen a Civil War bullet with teeth marks on it. Undeniable proof, they exclaim.”

I can only point to an excellent response to this question, written by George Wunderlich, executive director of the National Museum of Civil War Medicine, here. 

One Response to Myth # 142: During the Civil War, soldiers bit on bullets to combat pain.

  1. Ride into History says:

    Might this change Jo a bit . . ..

    Ann Birney, Ph.D. and Joyce Thierer, Ph.D.

What do you think?

